Principles of Maharishi Jyotish

Constituents of Maharishi Jyotish

Through the relationship and interaction of a few fundamental constituents, the Maharishi Jyotish expert can identify the cosmic forces of Natural Law influencing one’s life.

On this basis, Maharishi Jyotish consultations can provide predication of future events, trends and tendencies in all areas including education, career, marriage and relationships, health, happiness and prosperity.

Planets: the 9 Grahas

Grahas, roughly translated as planets, are more than simply planets hanging in space, they are part of the administration of Natural Law which governs the whole universe.

For example, Surya, the sun, represents the consciousness; Chandra, the moon, represents the cosmic mind; Budha, the planet Mercury, represents the cosmic intellect, and so on.

All of life is governed by one of the nine Grahas. A Maharishi Jyotish Pandit can therefore make predictions in any specific area of interest.

For example, if we consider family relationships: Surya the sun represents the father; Chandra, the moon, represents the mother; Shukra, Venus represents the wife; Guru, Jupiter, represents the husband, etc.

The following are the names of the nine grahas. Note that Rahu and Ketu are the two points where orbit of the moon crosses the ecliptic, the path of the sun in the sky as seen from the earth.

Rahu is the ascending lunar node—the point where the moon crosses to the north of the ecliptic. Ketu is the descending lunar node—the point where the moon crosses to the south of the ecliptic.

1. Surya Sun (Thalamus) (Self. King, status, father)

2. Chandra Moon (Hypothalamus) (mind, emotions, queen, mother)

3. Mangal Mars (Amygdala) (courage, precision, general)

4. Budha Mercury (Subthalamus) (intellect, discrimination)

5. Guru Jupiter (Globus Pallidus) (wisdom, expansion, teacher)

6. Shukra Venus (Substancia Nigra) (luxury, pleasures, arts)

7. Shani Saturn (Putamen) (grief, obstructions, servant)

8. Rahu Ascending lunar node (Nucleus Caudatus—head)
(unpredictable, similar to Shani)

9. Ketu Descending lunar node (Nucleus Caudatus—tail)
(secretive, occult, similar to Mangal)

Signs of the Zodiac: the 12 Rashis

The Twelve Rashis, which can be roughly translated as Solar Constallations or astrological signs are represented by 12 equal segments of a circle, each covering 30 degrees. Below we see the sun passing through the cycle of the 12 Rashis.

Twelve Rashis

As seen from the earth, the sun passes through each Rashi in a month or the entire circle of 12 Rashis in the course of one year. This is why the Rashis are described as solar constellations.

The other Grahas also move through the cycle of the 12 Rashis but at different speeds.

In the Maharishi Jyotish program the whole universe can be understood can be understood as having the form of a cosmic physiology. As such, each Rashi represents a part of the universal body, which is governed by the nine Grahas or planets.

The following are the twelve Rashis or signs of the zodiac with the Sanskrit name appearing first in italic:

  1. Mesha Aries
  2. Vrishabha Taurus
  3. Mithuna Gemini
  4. Karka Cancer
  1. Simha Leo
  2. Kanya Virgo
  3. Tula Libra
  4. Vrishchika Scorpio
  1. Dhanu Sagittarius
  2. Makara Capricorn
  3. Kumbha Aquarius
  4. Meena Pisces
Lunar Constellations: the 27 Nakshatras

In Sanskrit Nakshatra means ‘that which does not decay’ and each of the 27 Nakshatra is said to represent a particular quality of consciousness.

Nakshatras permeate the whole universe and influence the quality of the Rashi in which they are positioned. In the same way, the quality of a Graha depends to some extent on the Nakshatra in which it is positioned.

The 27 Nakshatras are represented as 27 equal segments of a circle. As seen from the earth the moon passes through the circle of 27 Nakshatras in about 27 days, passing through one Nakshatra every day. This is why the Nakshatras are described as lunar constellations.

Modern science has seen the intimate connection between the planets and the structure and function of our physiology. In the same way, the constellation groupings of the Rashis and Nakshatras are also counterparts of core components of the brain, cell and DNA.

And also like the Grahas, each Rashis and each Nakshatra indicates a specific quality of Natural Law that influences one’s life.

We see below the relation of the moon to both the Rashis (inner circle) and the Nakshatras (outer circle).

The Birth Chart: Kundali

The birth chart, or Kundali, calculated from the time and place of an individual’s birth, is like a snapshot of the universe at the moment of birth.

All the laws of nature, lively in the universe at the moment of birth, manifest themselves in seed-form in the birth chart, giving rise to an individual expression of the laws of nature.

The birth chart shows the interconnection between the universal and individual life.

The Houses of the Birth Chart are Associated with Specific Areas of Life
The Birth Chart displays the cosmic influences affecting the individual

The mathematical calculation of future trends is derived from the ancient seers who first cognized the Veda and simplified the innumerable influences affecting an individual at any given time to a few essential elements. These are the basic constituents of the Maharishi Jyotish Birth Chart.

The Houses of the Birth Chart are Associated with Specific Areas of Life

Each Bhava gives insight in specific aspects of the human physiology as well as with social, family, business and other areas of individual and collective life.

By analyzing the position of all these elements, Maharishi Jyotish Pandits are able to interpret what kind of influences are coming to the person and the aspect of life they will affect.

It is important to remember that all the constituents of Jyotish are just a vocabulary by which we can quantify the functioning of Natural Law at some specific time and place.

Maharishi Jyotish consultations are based on these traditional maps of future trends and events and we can then use this knowledge to manage our lives with confidence and competence.

Cycles of Time: Dashas

Dashas are life periods or cycles determined by the nine Grahas. The time quality of the Dashas is mainly determined by the influence of the Grahas as derived from the birth chart. The Dashas describe, how the trends of life unfold sequentially over time, based upon the potentiality contained in the birth chart.

Planetary Transits: Gochara

Gochar considers the day-to-day positions of the nine Grahas as they move through the Rashis and Nakshatras, and relates these positions to the birth chart.

These day-to-day positions of the Grahas indicate which trends of life become manifest based upon the latent possibilities of the birth chart.

When Gochar is considered in the light of the cosmic cycles of time (Dashas), the most specific and concrete predictions are possible. For reliable predictions, Gochar and Dashas must always be considered together.

Below we see all the Grahas moving, each at its own speed, through the circle of Rashis and Nakshatras. In this way, there is a constant dynamic of changing relationships between these different aspects of Natural Law that manifest into predicable trends in different areas of one’s life.